3:37 AM

IMG_2150

So here it is 3:37 AM and I can’t sleep. Do you ever have those nights where for some irrational reason you wake up for who-knows-why and try as you may you just CANNOT quiet your mind enough to slip back into nothingness? I know you can sympathize with me.

Luckily, I don’t have anything very perplexing on the stage of my psyche at this lonely hour of the moon-drenched morning. Of course I have those little day-to-day anxieties that seem so big when it’s dark outside and so infinitesimal in the brighter daylight hours.  Doesn’t everybody? Silly little things like budgets and work schedules and the beauty that is West Elm.

My initial reaction to this sleepless hour was agitation and frustration. All I wanted was to sleep and by golly, I should be able to. And then I was hit with the following realization:

I am not sleepless because I am wrestling with a sick child or family tragedy or financial burden. I am not struggling over health concerns or big life decisions. I am not contending with my conscience or agonizing over a broken relationship. I am not battling with grief or shame. I am merely sleepless.

No, I don’t have anything of much consequence on my mind; right at this moment, I am pristinely aware of that. And so very grateful.

Instead, I get to lay here and listen to the soft even breathing of my sweet husband.  I get to sink deeper into a cocoon of blankets and love and body heat. I get to count the blessings that so outnumber the stressors in my little life.  I get to take a few stolen moments to ponder the good.

Suddenly, I am feeling immensely grateful for the blessing of this lonely sleepless hour.

xoxo,

Liss

P.S. The pic above was taken from a window at work during my lunch yesterday. Isn’t the bay a stunner?

One thought on “3:37 AM

  1. This post is beautiful really. And this is my favorite part…

    “Instead, I get to lay here and listen to the soft even breathing of my sweet husband. I get to sink deeper into a cocoon of blankets and love and body heat. I get to count the blessings that so outnumber the stressors in my little life. I get to take a few stolen moments to ponder the good.”

Leave a Reply

