Peace and Scones

Two of my very favorite weekends of the entire year are in April and October. As members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, we have the opportunity to spend almost an entire weekend every six months listening to living prophets teach us divinely appointed truths. The peace and comfort I receive every single time is literally manna to my soul.

IMG_2141This spring session it was just Ryan and I, no family or friends. As much as I crave family time during conference, it was pretty nice. We spent the afternoon snuggled in our bed listening to joyful messages and contemplating how we can improve as a family.

IMG_2144Also, there were definitely goodies involved. Every since I can remember, my sweet mom has always made scones three times a year — Christmas and both General Conferences. It was only natural for us to continue the tradition and it is something I plan on doing for my own children someday. Sweets for the soul and the body: now that’s General Conference.

IMG_2147IMG_2156

IMG_2190

As we listened to the messages and munched on those fried pieces of heaven (peanut butter and honey for her, jam and powdered sugar for him) it was so evident to me that the very most important things in life were in that very room with me – my husband and the gospel. I am so grateful for the opportunity I have to know who I am and where I am going. What an invaluable gift.

Leave a Reply

